Team and governance

The Office for Climate Education is operated by:

  • a Strategic committee;
  • a Scientific and pedagogical committee;
  • an Operational team.

Strategic Board

The Strategic board is responsible for steering the OCE. Its president is Pierre Léna and its members are:

  • The founders
    • Jean Jouzel, President of Météo et Climat, France;
    • Hervé Roquet, Research assistant director of Météo France;
    • Daniel Rouan, President of the Foundation La main à la pate, France;
    • Marie-Lise Sabrié, Director of the Scientific culture and technologic mission of the Institut National de Recherche pour le Développement (IRD), France.
  • Qualified members
    • Barbara Filtzinger, Responsible for education at the Siemens Stiftung, Germany;
    • Peter McGrath, Coordinator of the InterAcademy Partnership (IAP), Italy;
    • Pierre Léna, Académie des sciences, Honorary president of the Foundation La main à la pâte, France;
    • Hervé le Treut, Director of the Institut Pierre Simon Laplace (IPSL), France;
    • Anna Pirani, Head of the technical support unit of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) working group 1, France;
    • Hans Joachim Schellnhuber, Director of the Potsdam-Institut für Klimafolgenforschung (PIK), Germany.
  • Permanent guest
    • The Chief executive officer of the Office for Climate Education (OCE).

Scientific and pedagogical committee

In May 2018, the Scientific and Pedagogical Committee is chaired by Eric Guilyardi and Cliona Murphy.

The other members are:

  • Juan Carlos Andrade, Pedagogic project officer, Innovec, Mexico;
  • Stéphan Baillargeon, Director of the Regional pole for science and technology education, Québec, Canada;
  • Sanny Djohan, director of PT Kuark Internasional, Indonesia;
  • Eric Guilyardi, Oceanographer and climatologist, Institut Pierre Simon Laplace (IPSL), France;
  • Gabrielle Zimmermann, biologist and teacher trainer, Foundation La main à la pâte, France;
  • Raphaëlle Kounkou, Responsible of the climatology studies at the interregional direction in Ile-de-France Centre, Météo-France;
  • Maria Martin, Climate physicist, Potsdam-Institut für Klimafolgenforschung (PIK), Germany;
  • Claudia Martinez, Executive Director, Educator Programs and CA Subject Matter Project, Diversity and Engagement, University of California Office of the President, USA;
  • Robin Matthews, Oceanographer, technical support unit of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC), France;
  • Hubert Mazurek, Ecologist and geographer, Institut National de Recherche pour le Développement (IRD), France;
  • Mauricette Mesguich, Teacher trainer, Maison pour la Science en Aquitaine, France;
  • Cliona Murphy, Associate professor and the Institute of Education, Dublin City University, Ireland;
  • Anwar Rumjaun, Director of the Mauritius Institute of Education, Ile Maurice;
  • Daniel Schaffer, Director of the Foundation for Environmental Education, Danemark;
  • Jenny Schlüpmann, Physicist, Freie Universität Berlin, Germany;
  • Vincent Viguié, Economist, Centre international de recherche sur l’environnement et le développement (CIRED), France;
  • Ulrike Wahl, project manager for South America, Siemens Stiftung, Germany.

Operational team

This team, created in March 2018, is based in Paris, hosted by IPSL offices at Sorbonne University.

The team is made (May, 2018) of:

David Wilgenbus – Chief Executive Officer

David Wilgenbus, astrophysicist by training, former La main à la pâte head of the “resource production” department. He coordinated between 2001 and 2018 several large-scale educational programs on sustainable development (health, natural disasters, climate change…), implemented by ~ 100,000 classes in France and abroad.

David Wilgenbus conducted in 2017 a preliminary study on the possibility of creating an international initiative to promote climate change education. He works now as Chief executive officer of the Office for Climate Education. His mission is to organize the activity of the foundation, taking into account the expectations of the strategic committee and of the scientific and pedagogical committee.

Contact: david.wilgenbus[at]

Lydie Lescarmontier – Science Officer

Lydie Lescarmontier is a glaciologist, specialized on the functioning of Antarctic glaciers. During her research career, she worked with the CNRS (French National Research Institute) and the Australian National University to better understand the effect of Climate Change on the Antarctic ice sheet. Since 2015, she is vice-president of the French committee of APECS (Association of Polar Early Carrier Scientists) promoting education and science in polar regions, young researcher represent at the CNFRA (French National Committee of Research in Arctic and Antarctic) and polar guide in the Arctic and Antarctic.

In 2018 she joined the OCE team as Science Officer. Her mission is to coordinate the production of educational resources of the OCE and its network.

Contact: lydie.lescarmontier[at]