The Office for Climate Education is operated by:

  • a Strategic committee;
  • a Scientific and pedagogical committee;
  • an Operational team (also called "Executive secretariat").


Strategic Board

The Strategic board is responsible for steering the OCE. Its president is Eric Guilyardi and its members are:


The founders

  • Luc Abbadie, Director of the Institute for Environmental Transition of Sorbonne University;
  • Jean Jouzel, President of Météo et Climat, France;
  • Hervé Roquet, Research assistant director of Météo France;
  • Daniel Rouan, President of the Foundation La main à la pate, France;
  • Marie-Lise Sabrié, Director of the Scientific culture and technologic mission of the Institut de Recherche pour le Développement (IRD), France.


Qualified members

  • Barbara Filtzinger, Responsible for education at the Siemens Stiftung, Germany;
  • Eric Guilyardi, Oceanographer and climate scientist, Institut Pierre Simon Laplace (IPSL), France;
  • Alexander Leicht, Chief of the UNESCO Section of education for sustainable development, France;
  • Anna Pirani, Head of the technical support unit of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) working group 1, France;
  • Jean-Loup Puget, Académie des sciences, France;
  • Stefan Rahmstorf, Professor at the Potsdam-Institut für Klimafolgenforschung (PIK), Germany.


Permanent guests

  • Sabine Bobée, Inspector, French Ministry of education, France;
  • Eric Brun, French IPCC focal point and director of ONERC, France;
  • Coralie Noël, Sustainable development Senior Official, French Ministry of education, France;
  • Pierre Léna, Académie des sciences, Honorary president of the Foundation La main à la pâte;
  • David Wilgenbus, Executive director of the Office for Climate Education.


Scientific and pedagogical committee

The Scientific and Pedagogical Committee is chaired by Cliona Murphy. Its members are:

  • Juan Carlos Andrade, Pedagogic project officer, Innovec, Mexico;
  • Stéphan Baillargeon, Director of the Regional pole for science and technology education, Québec, Canada;
  • Badin Borde, Education project manager, Siemens Stiftung, Germany;
  • Sanny Djohan, Director of PT Kuark Internasional, Indonesia;
  • Jean-Louis Dufresne, Research Director at the National Center for Scientific Research (CNRS), France;
  • Serge Janicot, climate scientist at the Institut de Recherche pour le Développement (IRD), France;
  • Pramod Kumar Sharma, Senior Director of Education, Foundation for Environmental Education, Danemark;
  • Frederic Long, engineer at Météo-France, France;
  • Maria Martin, Climate physicist, Potsdam-Institut für Klimafolgenforschung (PIK), Germany;
  • Claudia Martinez, Executive Director, Educator Programs and CA Subject Matter Project, Diversity and Engagement, University of California Office of the President, USA;
  • Cliona Murphy, Associate professor at the Institute of Education, Dublin City University, Ireland;
  • Minal Pathak, Senior Scientist, technical support unit of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) Working Group III, India;
  • Elvira Poloczanska, Science Advisor to the IPCC Working Group II Co-Chairs and TSU, Germany;
  • Pilar Reyes, Executive Director of ECBI Program - Univ. of Chile, Chile;
  • Anwar Rumjaun, Associate Professor at the Mauritius Institute of Education, Mauritius;
  • Jenny Schlüpmann, Physicist, Freie Universität Berlin, Germany;
  • Vincent Viguié, Economist, Centre international de recherche sur l’environnement et le développement (CIRED), France;
  • Gabrielle Zimmermann, Biologist and teacher trainer, Foundation La main à la pâte, France